No comments yet

15th Annual Meeting


The Association of Sri Lankan Lawyers in the UK held its 15th Annual General Meeting on 16th June 2018 at Garden Court Chambers, 57-60 Lincoln’s Inn Fields. London WC2A 3LJ.
Following registration and coffee Mr. Lee Karu QC, the Vice President of ASLLUK welcomed the members and guests to the meeting. In the morning, a Continuing Professional Development (CPD) session of two hours for solicitors and barristers was held. Mr. Eric Fripp – Barrister of Lamb Building Chambers gave a talk on ‘Has the dust settled yet? – Article 8 ECHR and immigration in the senior courts’ while Ms. Aswini Weereratne QC of Doughty Street Chambers delivered a lecture on “Do we need to talk about women in the law?” This lecture was followed by a discussion and questions. After the CPD session, Dr. Mayooran Shanmuganathan made a presentation on ” Cardiology Services – Life Saving Urgent Needs “.

Delicious Sri Lankan buffet lunch was then served by Amelia Catering.
AGM commenced at 2.00pm observing 2 minutes silence to honour the memory of late Patron of the Association, Sir Desmond de Silva QC. Mr. Wasantha Tennakoon presented the General Secretary’s Annual Report and the Treasurer’s Report was submitted by Mr. Selvanayagam Sathananthan. Mr. Fritz Kodagoda was unanimously appointed as the Patron of the Association.

Office bearers elected for the year 2018/2019 are:

  • Mr. Harendra de Silva QC – President
  • Mr. Lee Karu QC and Ms. Aswini Weeraratne QC – Vice Presidents
  • Mr. Ariya Sriharan – Chairman of the Executive Committee
  • Mr. Daminda K.G. Goonetillake – General Secretary
  • Mr. Lalith R. Sudusinghe – Deputy Secretary
  • Mr. Selvanayagam Sathanandan – Treasurer
  • Mr. Janaka Siriwardene – Deputy Treasurer
  • Mr. Wasantha Tennakoon – Chief Organiser
  • Mr. Shanthi Senadheera – Deputy Organiser
  • Mr. Azize Chelliah – Editor
  • Mr. Frank Ilanchelian – Deputy Editor

Executive Committee:

  • Mr. Lalith De Kauwe
  • Mr. Sam Methuen
  • Miss. Surya Samaraweera
  • Mr. Abul Hassan
  • Mr. Ganan Sivayoganathan
  • Ms. Renuka Sriharan
  • Ms. Parosha Chandran
  • Mr. Paulinus Puvindran Masilamany
  • Ms. Irene Sriharan
  • Mr. Kumudu Amaradasa
  • Mr. Shehan Pinidiya
  • Miss. Krishanthi Vincent

Co-opted Members:

  • Ms. Kalaivani Gopalaratnam
  • Mr. Saman Waidyaratne
  • Mr. Indika Kommalage

The Association of Sri-Lankan Lawyers is actively and continuously engaged in resolving issues concerning solicitors, barristers, attorneys-at-law and law students, safeguarding and preserving human rights, bringing about peace and reconciliation amongst communities in, providing scholarships to underprivileged students at the Sri-Lanka Law College, the Faculty of Law of University of Colombo, donating law books to the libraries of these two institutions and public libraries, assisting legal aid centres in Sri Lanka and contributing to numerous charitable activities.

Daminda KG Goonetillake
General Secretary

Post a comment